Ateneo de Davao BS Chemistry Graduate as
2016 PFCS Awardee for Chemistry Education


Dr. Rochelle dela Torre Papasin is the 2016 Philippine Federation Chemistry Societies (PFCS) awardee for Chemistry Education (High School). The PFCS award aims to inspire the youth to take up chemistry, to recognize outstanding contribution of chemists to development of discipline and to recognize outstanding and exemplary contributions to society through chemistry. There are four categories of PFCS awards which include Chemistry Education, Chemical Research, Chemical Industry and Service to the Chemistry Profession.

Dr. Papasin is a BS in Chemistry graduate of Ateneo de Davao University in 1985. Her other academic credentials include a PhD in Education (University of Immaculate Concepcion, Davao City), Master of Chemistry (Ateneo de Manila), MA in Science Education (University of Southeastern Philippines, Davao City).

She has won many awards such as the Metrobank Outstanding Teacher Award (2009) and International Leaders in Education Program Fellowship (Clemson University, South Carolina, 2010).

She started her professional career initially as an agricultural chemist at International Rice Research Institute (Laguna) and at the Cocoa Investors, Inc. (Davao del Sur). With the opening of the first Philippine Science High School (PSHS) campus outside of Metro Manila, she decided to re-enter the academic world as a chemistry teacher at the PSHS – Southern Mindanao Campus in 1991. She earned all of her graduate degrees while working at PSHS – SMC.

As a high school chemistry teacher, Dr. Papasin brings into her classrooms meaningful insights from her experiences growing up in a university town with parents who were both university science professors, from her industrial background as a research chemist, and from her formal academic training.

Dr. Papasin will receive the award this April 2016 during the 31st Philippine Chemistry Congress in Iloilo City.


Share This