The  Ateneo de Davao College of Law was established in 1961. Following a long tradition of excellence and care, of magis and cura personalis, the College of Law nurtures in the students the spirit of service, professional ideals, and ethical attitudes. It molds its students not only to be persons for others but also to be lawyers for the common good.

The College of Law is an evening class operation with classes from Mondays to Fridays from 5:00PM-9:00PM. It has a clinical legal education program and a legal aid office. It has also its own pre-bar review center.

The Ateneo de Davao University is a Jesuit institution. Its academic formation is governed by the Jesuit tradition of a well-rounded education for leadership and service in the concept of an Atenean as a “Person-for-Others”.

The Law School of the Ateneo de Davao University seeks to impart knowledge of the law; to inculcate professional ideals and attitudes; to develop professional skills such as logical analysis, counseling of clients, conduct of litigation, techniques of oral argument, negotiations and settlement, preparation of legal instruments; and to nurture the spirit of service rendered to the profession and to the public. On the whole, the College of Law strives to mold its students into excellent Christian lawyers.

The Ateneo de Davao was founded by the Society of Jesus upon the invitation of Msgr. Clovis Thibault, PME. They took over the St. Peter’s Academy, a parish grade and high school. The Ateneo High School opened in June 1948 in a wooden building located in a six-hectare lot in Matina. In 1951, the College of Arts and Sciences opened in Jacinto Street.

Ten years later in June 1961, the Rector, Rev. Hudson Mitchell S.J. established the College of Law. The first students who enrolled in the first year were only (16) sixteen. The first Dean of the College of Law was Atty. Leon M. Garcia, Jr. who headed it for two years (1961-63). He was followed by Atty. Epifanio E. Estrellado who had been on the faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences since 1952. Atty. Estrellado was the College Dean for 27 years (1963-1990), one of the longest-serving deans in the history of the Philippine Association of Law Schools (PALS). In 1990, Atty. Hildegardo F. Iñigo, one of the first graduates of the College of Law and member of its faculty since 1967 assumed the position of Dean until his demise on September 27. 2007. At present, Atty. Manuel P. Quibod (IBP President – Davao City) is the Dean of the College of Law.

The first graduates of the Ateneo Law School took the bar examinations in 1965. As of SY 2007-2008, the law school has awarded the Bachelor of Laws degree to hundreds of graduates and has produced 837 lawyers. Throughout the years, the Law School has endeavored to produce competent Christian lawyers. Its graduates continue to distinguish themselves in private practice, government service, and professional organizations.

Eight graduates have been among the top ten Bar Examinees:
(1) Hildegardo F. Iñigo (8th Placer, 1966)
(2) Jesus G. Dureza (10th Placer, 1973)
(3) Ruben V. Abarquez (9th Placer, 1976)
(4) Aaron Philip B. Cruz (7th Placer, 1998)
(5) Randy Peter T. Ceniza (6th Placer, 1999)
(6) Arvin Dexter M. Lopoz (2nd Placer, 2000)
(7) Rogelio G. Largo (4th Placer, 2000)
(8) Melissa Romana P. Suarez (8th Placer, 2003)

Other graduates who performed admirably in the bar examinations were:
(1) Josefina M. Brandares (11th Placer, 1972)
(2) Rodolfo C. Rapista (19th Placer, 1973)
(3) Miriam E. Gonzaga (15th Placer, 1976)
(4) Agustin L. Nazareno (13th Placer, 1983)
(5) Martin T. Lu (16th Placer, 1986)
(6) Vincent Paul L. Montejo (12th Placer, 1991)
(7) Geraldine V. Quimosing-Tiu (18th Placer, 1996)
(8) Mariecris B. Colon (12th Placer, 1997)
(9) Anna Vanessa L. Angeles (17th Placer, 1998)
(10) Victoriano D. Alabastro (15th Placer, 2000)
(11) Rovyne G. Jumao-as (19th Placer, 2001)
(12) Lielanie C. Yangyang (12th Placer, 2002)
(13) Ruby M. Luy (9th Placer, 2007)

According to the Supreme Court of the Philippines, the Ateneo College of Law is ranked within the first (10) ten law schools of the Philippines in Bar Exam performance. The school has maintained this excellent distinction and tradition for many years.

Admission requirements:


  1. Philippine Law School Admission Test (PhiLSAT) by the Legal Education Board and the Center for Educational Measurement (visit the website for details and to register for upcoming examination schedules)
  2. Ateneo English Proficiency Exam (all Saturdays of April and May 2018)


  1. Collegiate Transcript of Records
  2. Special Order (S.O.)
  3. Honorable Dismissal
  4. PSA/NSO Authenticated Birth Certificate
  5. I.D. picture 1×1 (1 copy)

Note: If coming from a State College or University submit a photocopy of diploma instead of special order. If Ateneo de Davao graduate – no need to submit a copy of special order & honorable dismissal.

For inquiries, please call the Ateneo de Davao College of Law at (082) 221 2411 local 8502 or e-mail them at


Atty. Manuel P. Quibod
Dotterweich Hall (formerly CocoFed Dormitory)
Tel +62 (82) 221.2411 local 8502
Fax No. +63 (82) 225.0770
Direct Line: +63 (82) 226.2279