The Honors and Awards Committee of the Ateneo de Davao University wishes to solicit recommendations from the community for the special awards granted by the University at its annual Commencement Exercises.

HONORARY DOCTORATE. The University confers honorary doctorates on outstanding individuals who have exemplified in their lives the values the University stands for and teaches to its students. The University itself is honored by the recipient’s acceptance of the award. The recipient of the honorary doctorate is usually asked to address the graduating class.

ARCHBISHOP CLOVIS THIBAULT AWARD. Named after the Most Rev. Clovis Thibault PME, first Prelate-Ordinary of Davao (1954), first Bishop of Davao (1966 )and first Archbishop of Davao (1970), the Archbishop Clovis Thibault Award is given to priests and religious for outstanding service to the Church.

DRS. JESS AND TRINING DE LA PAZ AWARD. Named after an outstanding couple in Davao, both physicians, the Drs. Jess and Trining de la Paz Award is intended to honor laymen and laywomen whose lives and work reflect love and concern for their fellows, following the Gospel’s great commandment of love.

FR. THEODORE DAIGLER AWARD FOR MINDANAO CULTURE AND ARTS. Named after the first rector of the University, himself a gifted musician and lover of the arts, the Fr. Theodore Daigler Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of artists and art organizations and their contributions to culture and arts in Mindanao over a significant period of time.

The criteria for nomination and selection for each of the awards, and the nomination form may be viewed and downloaded at 2017 University Awards Nomination-Form.

Those who wish to nominate are requested to fill out the nomination form, attach documents relevant to the nomination, and send them to the Honors and Awards Committee of the Board of Trustees, c/o Office of the President, Ground Floor, Canisius Hall, Ateneo de Davao University or email a scanned copy to Mr. Vinci Bueza at

Deadline for nominations is on 3 November  2017.

To ensure that we have a good number of nominees to choose from, please forward this call for nominations to your colleagues from other universities and professional circles.

The decision on these Awards will be made by the Board of Trustees on 11 November 2017.

Share This