Ateneo de Davao University Junior High School journalists bagged 12 wins and 4 special awards in this year’s Division Schools Press Conference (DSPC) with the theme “The Role of 21st Century Campus Journalists in Upholding Good Governance, Leadership, and Transparency”, held at the Brokenshire College of Davao last Oct. 27-28.

Students from over 100 public and private schools (elementary and secondary levels) demonstrated their skills in writing and talents in broadcasting in this year’s DSPC. The top five contenders in each individual category and the first place in team categories qualify to the Regional Press Conference (RSPC)

The first place triumph of the Radio Broadcasting and Script Writing (English) Team sealed the bag of awards and medals brought home by the Blue Knight. The team bannered by Junfel Sotelo, Joshua Daquipil, Danica Marie Marasigan, John Kyle Saavedra, Harriet Sheen Gallentes, Hannah Molina, Miel Dullano, and Hannah Maj Piccio advances to the RSPC to be held on January 7-9 in Cateel, Davao Oriental.

Individual category contestants who also qualified for the RSPC are Gianna Marie Therese Bacareza – 2nd place Editorial Writing, Maria Theresa Largo – 2nd place Pagsulat ng Lathalain (Feature Writing), Leandrew Angelo Goseco – 2nd  place Larawang Pampahayagan (Photojournalism), Guia Mikaela Salinas – 3rd place  Pagsulat ng Editoryal (Editorial Writing), Johanna Vaughn Dejito – 5th place News Writing, Jaimee Dominique Dango – 5th place Copyreading and Headline Writing, and Jannies Shyne Briones – 5th place Editorial Cartooning.

Special recognition were given to Joshua Daquipil – Best Anchor in Radio Broadcasting English Category, Michel Rema Tumulak – Best Anchor in Radio Broadcasting Filipino Category,  Johanna Vaughn Dejito – 2nd place Most Outstanding Campus Journalist High School Category, and the  Radio Broadcasting and Script Writing in Filipino Team for Best Infomercial.

Team category awardees are Michel Rema Tumulak, Jan Earl Ecabande, Czarmaine Gupeteo, Ralph Pahinado, Kate Gutierrez, Lyle Ganade, Bianca Landanganon, and Leen Juliet Lapatis – 3rd place Radio Broadcasting and Script Writing in Filipino; Mia Amor Barros, Nurzahir Zacaria Guimba, Maria Zyri Beatriz Mariano, Christy Cañete, Sophia Vicente, Alainna Serrano, Jastine Mercado – 2nd Place Collaborative Publishing Filipino Category; and Rikka Marie Laud, Rage Jairus Perez, Maria Leana Alexis Roca, Jaime Manalo, Rysher Nolasco, Adrianne Tobias, Kyra Paronda – 3rd  Place Collaborative Publishing English Category.

Other students who participated in the said contest were Jamil Ian Candolada – 6th Place Sports Writing, Maya Sarani Miclat – Pagsulat ng Balita (News Writing), James Limon – Feature Writing, Leila Andrea Lopez – Pagwawasto at Pag-uulo ng Balita (Copyreading and Headline Writing), Maria Angelica Tumandao – Photojournalism, Kent Jeremy Batilo – Pagsulat ng Isports (Sports Writing), and Charles Albert Castillo – Kartong Pang-editoryal (Editorial Cartooning).

Ms. Angelle Marie Aquino, Ms. Zaynab Cortez, Ms. Mikhaila Stephanie Veruasa, and Mr. Johnedel Laciapag coached the participants.

The DSPC is an annual competition pursuant to Republic Act 7079 or the Journalism Act of 1991. It aims to uphold the rights of campus journalists and ensures high standard campus journalism through school publication and friendly competition. (by: Maya Sarani Miclat)

Share This